Diet

Jumping on my soapbox.

I just happened upon this article, written by the health department of a university, while browsing and eating my lunch. It hit on what I guess you could call a sore spot for me…FAD DIETS. Ugh, I even hate the word. Honestly, though, I can see how some people would fall for these claims. You’re busy, you don’t have time to go to the gym, you don’t have the money to buy tons of groceries…I get it. But I truly feel that the things in the life that are the most rewarding and worthwhile aren’t going to happen overnight. I highly doubt Bill Gates accrued his worth in just a day.

So, that leads me back to these fad diets. Yes, you might lose weight during your veggie soup diet (or whatever it’s being marketed as now). AND THAT’S BECAUSE ALL YOU’RE EATING IS BROTH AND VEGGIES. Please tell me what happens when you stop that diet and resume your normal diet all over again?! But dropping weight quickly is what we want, because the human race in general wants immediate results in every aspect of life. So, we keep trying these fad diets, the crazy pills, the tight as heck corset things. And why? Because they do give you immediate results. But, do these results last? Can you maintain that figure, that weight on the scale, even after you’ve taken off the corset or ran out of cabbage? Likely not.

But there’s a little secret that few know, and most choose not to believe, and that is that the best diet is actually not a diet at all. It’s a lifestyle (gasp!). You see, if you change your life, your eating habits, your routines, then it becomes something you do every day and you can maintain it. Change your lifestyle and then take a look in the mirror or step on the scale. The only problem with that is that it won’t happen overnight. Just as Rome wasn’t built in a day, you aren’t going to get the body you desire just by chasing a fad diet for a week. I’m all about words and what they mean so of course I looked up the definition of fad, just to try and further prove my point. The two words that stood out to me in that definition were SHORT LIVED, and that pretty much sums up a fad diet. Now, lifestyle change on the other hand…is quite literally changing the way in which you live. When you spell it out like that I think the evidence is pretty hard to miss. Even Robert Frost knew how to do it. Didn’t he take the road less traveled? Isn’t he kind of a famous poet? Seems to me he knew his stuff. So, again I question, why are we still following fad diets? Take that road less traveled, dammit. Maybe it’s not paved, and it winds up a mountain, but I can almost guarantee that the view from the top is beautiful.

Jumping off my soapbox now…

(As always, what you read here is merely a rambling result of my own knowledge and thought processes. I am not a doctor and I am not affiliated with any brands.)

 

One thought on “Jumping on my soapbox.

  1. A little over two years ago I had decided to take a different path on my journey in life. I was morbidly obese and if I didn’t change my lifestyle I was going to be on the path to an early death. I couldn’t breathe going up a simple set of steps but today I have lost 100 pounds and have run a few 5k races. When asked how I did it my response was hard work, tears, and yes a few stumbling blocks but with the help of my coach and friends I continue on my path to health and wellness. There is no quick fix! Trust me I had tried them all. Thank you for spreading the truth about fad diets and what it will take to succeed.

    Like

Leave a Reply

