Training

Training after Injury

Yesterday was a big accomplishment for me.  I trained chest at the gym for the first time in about 6 months. I know, I know…what’s the big deal really? But, this was huge for me! I have been struggling with De Quervain’s Tenosynovitis for months now. Granted, this issue began while I was weeks away from competing in my first national NPC competition, so of course like the bad patient I am- I trained through the pain. I dedicated six months to prepping for this show, I wasn’t about to let a little wrist pain stop me. And now here I am almost six months post show and I’m still feeling the repercussion of not resting the hand fully.

So, for the past few months I have tailored my workouts to put as little strain on that wrist/hand as possible. I stopped training chest altogether, lifted everything else lighter, and did legs more frequently.  I just couldn’t bring myself to completely stop and take a break to recover. And here I am, a nurse for God’s sake. And I know better. I harp on my own patients, family, friends, etc. about taking care of themselves. But, alas, I did not practice what I preach.

So, yesterday I took the plunge. I was feeling brave and my hand didn’t hurt at all. I did a full chest workout successfully. No tears or quitting involved. I feel like a newbie, though, and I’m weak. But I have a renewed sense of motivation. No longer do I have an excuse to skip chest workouts. I used to hate “chest day”, but now having missed out on it for months, I am much more excited to try out a new workout or attempt to spot my boyfriend/lifting partner. I posted one of my favorite chest workouts on my exercise page for you all – incline hex presses– just because I was so happy to be back at it that I wanted to share it with the world!

A little background info: De Quervain’s is an irritation/inflammation of the tendons on the thumb side of the wrist usually caused from repetitive activity. Apparently this is similar to carpal tunnel syndrome…but in a different tunnel, so to speak.

I never knew this disease existed before, but I promise you that the pain that it caused me made it unforgettable. It caused pain basically when performing any motion involving the wrist or thumb. Grasping objects, lifting, typing, and even just range of motion of the thumb could incite immediate and intense pain. It appears that rest and bracing are the best treatment options…both of which I didn’t do as I should. And I paid. But, thankfully, it appears that I’m on the upswing finally.

Leave a Reply

