Training

I am Obsessed

I came across a quote just yesterday that stopped me in my tracks.  I am one of those people who loves to use quotes to explain a feeling or a situation. Cliché? Probably. Do I care? Nope. I feel like it put into words how I feel about my hobby- the gym and bodybuilding. I call it a hobby and not a full-time job solely because the gym hasn’t yet paid my mortgage or utility bills. Anyhow, I digress….So I think I’ll just give you the quote now.

“There’s no talent here, this is hard work. This is an obsession. Talent does not exist, we are all equals as human beings. You could be anyone if you put in the time. You will reach the top, and that’s that. I am not talented, I am obsessed.” – Conor McGregor

Strangely enough, depending on how you look at it, this quote was made by what many consider to be the craziest man in the UFC fighting circuit currently. And here I am shocked that he’s spouting words that get me all kinds of excited about what I do. Apparently he’s more than some head kicks and grappling.

Maybe, you say, talent most certainly does exist. Okay, I see your point of view. But ponder this, does raw talent ever prosper if not given the time to flourish? Did Michael Phelps just jump in a pool one day and win a slew of Olympic medals? I think not. Did Nicole Wilkins win four Olympias by chowing down on cheeseburgers and fries everyday? Absolutely not. And that’s my point. Everyone who has achieved greatness such as this became obsessed with their sport, their hobby, their job. They lived and breathed their work. They probably made a lot of sacrifices and missed out on parties, vacations, or family gatherings. But when you set your mind to something, and you want it more than life itself, you obsess over it. You hone your craft. You leave zero room for error. You learn that you can push your body to limits you never knew existed, and then you break through those limits and push higher. You break mental barriers. You condition yourself to never accept failure. And then, well then you succeed.

And now I am all kinds of hyped up over this motivation speech and I’m ready to go create some greatness of my own. Of course, that could just be the extra large coffee talking. Who knows….Dream Big Anyhow.

Leave a Reply

