Training

The Day My Headphones Died

It seemed like a typical day. I went to work and the day progressed as any other. I came home and readied myself for the gym, as I usually do. I walked into the gym, bag in hand, ready to pick heavy things up and put them down.  What I didn’t know is that my headphones were laying dead in the left pocket of my gym bag. So, imagine my surprise (and probably a little rage) when all I heard was silence when I pressed play. As many of you can probably agree, a workout without music in your ears is basically ruined. I felt defeated before I even began. What do I do? Do I just leave? How does this work without those little plugs in my ears?! Someone might talk to me!! EEEEKKK! But, I forged on all the while vowing to never go to sleep again without those little buggers being put on the charger.

Guess what I realized? I actually had a great workout, minus the bad 80’s music pumping through the gym speakers. And, people did talk to me….and I didn’t wholly mind it. I made friends with two new girls who I’ve noticed have been coming to workout at the same time as me. And of course I know we’re friends because we exchanged pleasantries for a minute. Of course, BFF status.  But really, my point is that without those headphones I was more aware of my surroundings, and I think maybe my resting bitch face was softened a bit by the fact that I was inundated by people and noises that I never noticed before. 

            -Sidebar: I’ve been told I do, in fact, have a pretty solid resting bitch face.  This revelation was somewhat disheartening because I do NOT feel at all like the face matches the personality. I’m kind of like the little kid who always wants to play with the others on the monkey bars, but for some reason they never ask. And now, after all these years I know why….resting bitch face scared them away.

Anyhow, I was at the gym getting a great workout and making all these new friends. And I realized right then and there that sometime the best workout isn’t one done in silence inside your own head. Sometimes it’s nice to have a conversation with the “newbies”. Just maybe because someone was kind to them when they were new and nervous instead of being judgmental, those newbies will stay and become fixtures there.

The day my headphones died, I realized that I want to be the kind of person who inspires other people, who makes the newbies want to come back another day and give the gym another shot. I want to be a role model. I want people to look at me and want to become a better person. No, I don’t want people to look at me and say, “I want to look just like you”, because that isn’t what this is about. I want to inspire you to become a better version of yourself. We are all different and that is what makes this great.  No two people are the same.  But we can each cultivate our best selves. All we need is a little motivation.

So, take from this funny little story, that’s maybe a little dramatic, about some dead headphones a little bit of motivation on this snowy (in Pennsylvania) Friday. Go to the gym today. Take your headphones off. Smile. And kick your workout’s ass.

inspire

Leave a Reply

