Uncategorized

Fuel for my Fire

I’m starting to see a trend on my blog, and I’m not wholly upset by it.  I write when a thought or topic sparks my interest. I write basically how I’m feeling at exactly that minute. I write because I’ve felt like I’ve had an epiphany, and I need to get it out before I lose it forever in my mind. Yes, I am that person who keeps the iPad within arms’ reach because you never know when the creative energy is going to start flowing. I like the fact that this is a place for you to come and read something from a “real person’s perspective”. And my biggest hope is that you read this and can relate. Maybe you don’t identify with everything I post about, but hopefully, at least once, you feel like you’re not alone in your thoughts….and there’s someone else as crazy as you out there.

Today, it just so happens that I’ve been thinking about how women treat one another and how hysterically absurd it would be if men acted like us.  For example, my boyfriend can walk into the gym on any given day, at any given time, and make a friend or start up a conversation with another random man. But, for most women that doesn’t happen. Women are catty. Period. And it’s sad. What a force we would be if we could come together and lift each other up instead of always trying to get ahead.

I have been on the short end of the stick of “gym-timidation” many times. Yes, I hear those whispers of “she looks like a man” or “ew, gross”. And I will tell you that there was once a time when those whispers that you think I didn’t hear hurt my feelings. But now, well now ladies, that just fuels my fire. So I thank you. Thank you for judging me and my hard work. You just gave me an extra boost to my “manly workout”. Although I am truly astonished by the outward dislike that women show for someone who may be fitter than them, faster, etc…you name it.  Men don’t get an attitude with the guy who just squatted more than them. Heck, they slap ’em on the back and a new bromance blossoms.

My mom always today me that if I didn’t have anything nice to say, then I shouldn’t say anything at all. But, today I want to change that. I want to change that mindset to instead reflect this- if you don’t have anything nice to say, then think of something quick. It’s not hard. For god’s sake, you might just make someone’s day if you tell them you like their shoes. And remember this, your negative looks and comments might be fuel to someone’s fire and that technically means you’re helping them out anyhow…imagesSo Just Be Nice.

Leave a Reply

