Diet

Meal Prep and Chill

food humorSo, let me tell you about my Sunday. I slept in, went to breakfast with my boyfriend, and then we bought groceries. The end. You probably thought I had some great story to tell…

Well, I do. I have a story. The greatness factor is likely nil. But read on…

As you know, or maybe you didn’t, I competed in my most recent figure competition in September. And now I am going to be 100% fully honest with you. I prepped for that show for just shy of 6 months. They were pretty damn hard. And if you’re thinking that I was drained because of training and exercise, you are dead wrong. I was mentally freaking exhausted after that show. Not only did I have to put 110% focus into my food intake day in and day out, but I also had a very personal tragic issue about 3 weeks before I was supposed to compete. So, I completed my prep and I did my very brief stint on stage. (For any competitors out there you know that your time on stage usually passes in such a blur that you aren’t even sure it actually happened.) I’ll be honest, I was just so happy to be finished. I was proud that I was able to stay strong and complete that show regardless of what was going on around me, but I had more important things on my plate, and I was ready to be a normal contributing member of society again. So, long story short again, I had what I like to call a “mini mental breakdown” after my show. I didn’t go crazy and need institutionalized, but I went waaaaaaay off the wagon with my diet and food intake. I did not reverse out of my prep diet. (And believe me, I am regretting that now) Reverse dieting does exist and everyone should be doing it post show. So my “mini mental breakdown” basically went like this….1. Screw any mention of diet. 2. Eat whatever the hell I want. 3. Say hello to stretch pants everyday.

But everyday I would wake up and say, “today is the day I am getting my sh*t together”. And then lo and behold, I’d go to bed that night with no semblance of any sh*t being in any sort of order. I knew that what I was doing wasn’t right. I knew I’d be disappointed if I had clients acting like I was. But I just couldn’t wrap my head around tracking food, eating in any routine, or any of the sort. I. Just. Couldn’t. Do. It.

But, like a switch had been flipped, I woke up yesterday (2/7/2016 if we’re being accurate and documenting) and said, “This is it. You’re done with your “mini mental breakdown”. Get your crap together, Chelsy”. And thank sweet baby Jesus that my boyfriend was on board and more than willing to meal prep and chill with me. So we had what I like to call THE LAST BREAKFAST and then we went and bought all sorts of foods that my body hadn’t seen in a while. We stocked up on chicken breasts and greens, and rice and fish a-plenty (I feel like I’m singing you a song now) and once the cart was full, we headed home to have our Sunday cook-fest. I can now proudly tell you all that I have meals packed in nice little containers for days, thanks in great part to Zach (he’s the boyfriend). Actually as I’m telling you this story, I am eating a cute little measured out container of egg whites with a tablespoon of peanut butter. And it feels like heaven. I feel like my insides are rejoicing…but likely they are in shock from the “health food” going down. The only downside of this whole ordeal was that we actually had to use our kitchen and cook food. We have been living off of restaurants and lots of take-out lately. But, I think my body and my bank account will thank me for finally getting my sh*t together.

 

 

(Sidenote: Although odd, peanut butter and egg whites are quite delicious together. Don’t knock it until you’ve tried it!)

Leave a Reply

