Uncategorized

Thick Thighs Save Lives

image4So, I want to tell you about my afternoon yesterday.

I went to the mall with one goal- to buy a pair of skinny khakis.

I returned home from the mall with a bag full of goodies from Sephora.

I think they call this an epic fail.

…or maybe it’s still a win because at least my face looks pretty now.

But I want to tell you about why I was 2.5 seconds away from having a full blown toddler tantrum in the middle of a dressing room. I literally stalked every clothing store at the mall in the span of 2 hours looking for these elusive khakis. Out of about 10 stores, I think 2 had a skinny khaki. One pair’s tag even said something about giving you a better butt. Hell, I was all in on that! But, needless to say, I will never know if those pants would have given me a fabulous booty because I couldn’t get them pulled up past my thighs.  I even went totally against my “weird girly judgment” and chose a pair that were 2 sizes bigger than I normally wear just to see if they would be better able to pass over thick thigh land. Fail. Again. So this is when I threw in the towel and just went to Sephora. Everything fits you there.

But, really, the reason I am writing this is because I know that I cannot be the only woman that has this kind of problem. I have honestly worn leggings to work 8/10 days recently. Granted, I am in what I call my “offseason” so I’m by no means a delicate little flower. But, not a pair of my skinny jeans is wanting to fit. And instead of crying and feeling horrible about myself, because not fitting into your pants just makes you feel hugely fat, I’ve just beefed up my legging stock. You can dress them up (for work) and they always work well at the gym. Plus, they’re cheaper than jeans and dress pants. It’s a win/win in my book. However, I just wish I could find pants made for people like me. Just make some jeans with nice stretch, room in the butt and thigh, and no dang gaps at the waist. Is that too much to ask for?! Good lord, no wonder so many high school girls have body image issues. I know I have thick areas, but I’m pretty proud of them because I built them myself. I’ve put a lot of time and sweat into building a butt and thighs that don’t leave any gaps. But yesterday I left the dressing room feeling pretty down about myself. And that’s not a good place to be. But, you know what? I went home and threw on those cherished leggings and went to the gym to work on my shape. I know that I will never know what a thigh gap is, and I’m perfectly okay with that. I will not let myself be defined by society’s standards.

I am strong. I am healthy. And at the end of the day, I am happy for what I actually do have.

2 thoughts on “Thick Thighs Save Lives

  1. I’m in the same boat! I love my thick thighs, but yes – jeans are hard.

    I like the way American Eagle jeans fit, and they’re pretty cheap and look decent. Still haven’t found nice jeans that I love.

    Like

  2. Love this post – I know exactly how you feel. Jeans are impossible, especially when I’m trying to find a pair of skinny jeans that actually fit over my thighs and butt. I had one perfect pair and they literally got torn up earlier this week from the overuse over the last couple of years. I’m still mourning their loss.

    Like

Leave a Reply

