Diet

The Un-Diet Diet

humor

Today for breakfast I had an English muffin (with butter) and a coffee flavored protein shake. I also had a piece of Dove chocolate. I’m also currently doing what most people would call a diet. Up until a week or so ago, I was eating anything and everything…and I mean EVERYTHING. But, as mentioned in a previous post, I got my crap together and decided to tighten up the reins. I have no plans to compete in any bodybuilding competitions in the foreseeable future, so many people question why I’m “dieting”.

Again, I’ll explain- this is a lifestyle. This is not a diet. In fact, it’s quite literally an un-diet, diet. I have made the conscious decision to be mindful of what I am putting into my body. But that doesn’t mean you won’t see me eating chocolate or even ice cream on occasion. I am NOT starving myself, nor am I restricting myself from foods.  I am living and eating a healthy lifestyle. A way of life that I have missed since going rogue for a few months. Trust me, I have a massive sweet tooth and can also house a family-sized bag of chips like a full grown man. For those reasons, this is why my flexible un-diet works best for me. I don’t feel deprived of anything. I count macros (macronutrients- Carbohydrates, Protein, and Fats). There are number parameters that I stay within each day, and within those numbers whatever foods I choose to make “fit” then I eat. Obviously good judgment must be used because of the freedom this allows. Just because a big burger and fries fits within those numbers, doesn’t mean its the best choice to be making for lunch every day. But, the freedom of flexible un-dieting does mean that if I am having a craving, I can typically fit that food into my daily numbers so I can satisfy the craving.  From my experience, a HUGE reason that diets fail people is that they are restricted from certain foods. The restriction of those foods causes us to want the food even more. This is just basic human nature. We always want what we can’t have.

Of course, this lifestyle does take some getting used to. Some people find it tedious to count macros, but I am a creature of habit and like routine, so counting comes easily to me. It makes me feel like there is tangible evidence of my work to better my body and my health. It also helps to keep me accountable.  When you have those numbers staring back at you, it’s hard to justify the zillion carbs and fats in a Big Mac (not to mention all the other ick contents).

The bottom line is: Don’t knock it until you try it. If you’re looking for a way to stay on track with your current healthy eating, want to lose some weight, or even gain some lean muscle mass then this un-diet might just be what you’re looking for. Don’t be a cheater. Un-diet.

Note: Each person will have a different set of numbers based on their unique self, so asking for my own personal parameters isn’t going to be beneficial to your own goals. Questions or interest can be directed to intrepidlyfit@gmail.com.

 

2 thoughts on “The Un-Diet Diet

  1. good mentality. The second something isn’t allowed, that’s when you want it the most. It’s all about making more good choices than bad choices, and that’s it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

