Training

PR’s and Other Girly Things

A few days ago, I had a ridiculously good day at the gym. I actually don’t know why it’s taken me so long to post about it. But anyhow, I try to get in a good back workout a few times a week. Being a figure competitor, having a wide back and small waist is what I strive for.  Unfortunately my back is slower than the rest of my body on getting the grow memo. Wouldn’t it be nice to move some of that thigh muscle up into the lats? If only, right?!

So, like I said, I’ve been trying to work on my back at least 2, and sometimes if I’ve really got my crap together three times per week. I do so many lat pull-downs that I could probably do them in my sleep. But, you do what you have to do if you have a goal in mind. It doesn’t really bother me, though, because back day has always been one of my favorites. But the point of this post isn’t to bore you….

I just want to shout about 2 PR’s I hit.

First, my gym partner (the boyfriend) and I worked on our rack deadlifts. He was in a mood to do some heavy weight, so I wasn’t about to disagree. So, for my final set (out of about 5) I deadlifted 225lbs for a set of 3! Granted, doing these on a rack that is slightly up off of the floor does seem to give a strength advantage. But, just last week I was only able to get a few reps at 180lbs. So, needless to say, I was pretty pumped. And I rode that high and adrenaline rush right into some one arm dumbbell rows….AND SMASHED ANOTHER PR. (See video below)

That video would be me rowing 75lbs. for six on each arm. And my form stayed pretty consistent without getting sloppy. All in all, that was the most exciting back day I’ve had in a while. And yes, I’m tooting my own horn. But it’s not because I want to brag. I’m happy that I’ve set goals and I’ve reached beyond them. And I just hope that my own story will give you some motivation and determination to crush your goals, too!

It doesn’t matter if you are picking up 10lbs or 310lbs. Whatever your personal goal is, well that’s good enough for me. JUST MAKE GOALS. And then work to become better than those goals. No one has ever gotten ahead in life by staying stationary. No one will ever become their best physical self by repeatedly doing the same thing (ie. same weight, etc.). The bottom line is that you should want to do better and be better for YOU.  Don’t compare yourself to someone else, just compete with the you from yesterday or a week or year ago. If you constantly try to compete with other people, you will fail at reaching your own personal goals. Each of us is so different, how can you expect to have the same goals? Make your own goals and be a motivator to someone else. Help each other to reach your goals, and be on the same team instead of working against one another.

So, be yourself. Do your own thing. And never compare yourself to someone else. It’s a hard enough task just beating the you of yesterday.

Leave a Reply

