Diet

Oops…I Ate the Whole Cake

As everyone knows, we just finished up a nice holiday weekend. You probably spent some time with family, caught up with friends, and in many cases (mine included) you just might have eaten your bodyweight in food/candy/chocolate, etc. I will be the first to admit, I have trouble controlling myself during any holiday involving good eats. I’m like a woman on a mission, once I start devouring all the goodness…I. JUST. CAN’T. STOP. And once I’ve got the taste of “bad” food on my tongue, it’s all I crave. I want nothing to do with chicken or broccoli. Just bring me the cookies, the mashed potatoes and gravy, and a few pounds of ham. I literally can become a human garbage disposal in the blink of an eye. I can out eat many a grown man, although I don’t really think that’s a feat I ought to be too proud of. But the point is, I am human. I enjoy downing all those goodies just as much (maybe a little more) as I enjoy eating salads and tracking my food. It takes discipline to make a conscious decision to drop the donut and choose some eggs and oats for breakfast.

So, now that it’s clear that I (and maybe you, too) fell off of the wagon while Easter feasting this weekend, let’s talk about how to bounce back from Candy Land…

First things first- USE ALL OF THOSE EXTRA CARBS YOU INGESTED TO FUEL SOME HIGH INTENSITY WORK-OUTS! Go ham (pun intended) on the weights at the gym. Go run some sprints. Take a high intensity cardio class. Just do something to really get your heart rate up and use that glycogen to your advantage. You should have a ton of energy to dedicate to a fantastic workout.

Secondly (but you should be doing concurrently with the workouts)- Immediately resume your normal eating habits. Have your meals prepped and ready as usual, and get right back to eating all your routine meals and foods. Keeping long-term eating habits in check will help to minimize the blow of the holiday binge.

Last, but not least- DON’T SWEAT IT. You ate the food, and you enjoyed it. Now, just move on. You’ve got goals to reach, and dwelling on one misstep isn’t going to help you get ahead.

Being healthy and “in good shape” isn’t about being perfect 24/7. I’m sure you have physiques that you idolize, everyone does. And they probably always look like they are in perfect condition. Not an ounce of fat, washboard abs, and a pretty face to boot. So if you’re following someone like that on social media, Instagram for example, just think…do you honestly think that they are going to post a photo of themselves all disheveled after an Easter binge? Of course not. Just remember that what you see isn’t always true to real life, and many times these people are getting paid to look like they do. Think about this…these fitness models and many top people in the industry are getting paid to do photo shoots and sell products. It’s not as hard to maintain those perfect abs when someone is paying you to do just that.

Moral of the story– until your job is to look like perfection every day while being the face of a supplement company (or whatnot), then just go on enjoying the good things in life, which means learning how to strike a balance between chocolate and chicken…basically.

Leave a Reply

