Training

I Like to Move It, Move It

I’ve always had a thing with numbers. I have a favorite number and I despise odd numbers…I think I’m slightly OCD. But, nonetheless, the number thing has followed me into fitness. It’s followed me in that I hate doing high rep anything, and I’m a fan of four working sets of an exercise. It’s not a scientific method, though if you try it and find yourself getting great results, then yes it’s the Chelsy Method. Anyhow, I’ve always been a low rep/high weight person. This is probably because if I let myself, I will always look for shortcuts and easy routes. So low reps for me is easier than banging out sets of 20. I just hate those. But since I’ve kind of found myself doing an entire overhaul of my previous ways of thinking about training, I have found myself, shockingly enough, incorporating higher rep counts into my exercises. This has especially changed my lower body workouts. Don’t get me wrong, I still enjoy a good and heavy leg session. You know, one of those that leave you with legs like jello. But more often than not, I have been using higher reps and 4+ working sets on each exercise, and I have been pretty happy with the results. I am a self proclaimed “thunder thigh” and have always struggled with never fitting right into shorts or having things look funny on me because clothes are made for models with thigh gaps as wide as the Atlantic. But, with the current leg workouts that I’ve been putting myself through, I am honestly happy with the progress that I am making. I am nowhere near stage weight and lean, but I feel my legs are developing more shape than ever even while still lacking that damn gap. I’ve really honed in on developing stronger and more defined glutes and hamstrings, and I think that the work may be starting to pay off. Most of all, though, is that I’m enjoying my workouts. I don’t look at them as work, and I can honestly say that I look forward to the days that I am training my lower half.

Here’s a snippet of one of my new favorite booty pumping sets:

Here’s another myth to debunk: you don’t always have to lift heavy to get a nice booty. The proof is in the pudding. Do this and then tell me that your buns aren’t burning. What I did was 20 standing hip abductions (each leg) and then 20 glute kickbacks (each leg) as one set. Then I did it again and again, and again until I was totally spent. I think I did like 5ish sets. I didn’t count. I just went until there wasn’t any gas left in the tank. This was my final set of work on my most recent leg workout day. You’ll be hard pressed to get a better butt burnout than this, in my opinion. So, prior to this I did a few other exercises (some heavy, some light, some with resistance bands) and then this was the finisher.

I have found that I like to do some exercises as high rep/low weight and others with low rep/heavy weight. It’s pretty much personal preference on my part, and it’s 100% based on my own mind/muscle connection. There are just some exercises that I feel like I’m not fully connecting with if I perform them low weight or high weight. It’s taken a couple years to hash out what I like, and then I build from there. And no, I don’t do the same thing for each muscle group every time. I am a huge believer in sticking to the basics, for the most part, and then throwing in some accessory work to liven things up. I get bored easily, but I still know the value of a deep and heavy squat. You just learn to tweak some things as you go. Fitness is a marathon, not a sprint. And we all would do well to remember that.

Leave a Reply

