Diet

Think Pink

Ok, I did it. I jumped right on the bandwagon and into this new Pink Drink craze at Starbucks. But how can you not?? Actually, I mentioned it to my boyfriend the other day and he surprised me with one of my very own this morning. Anyhow, it’s full of fresh strawberries, it’s the prettiest color pink, AND it’s not one of those frappe-whatos full of syrups, fats, and junk. Of course, it’s next to impossible to find the nutritional information on this new drink because it’s from the secret menu, so I improvised. I checked into the nutrition info of the coconut milk that Starbucks uses and then I looked at the info on the Strawberry Acai Refresher, because apparently this drink is similar to that. And after seeing post after post on Instagram and Facebook about this drink, mostly positive, I thought I’d give it a shot.

Here’s what I found nutrition-wise on it. The base is the strawberry acai refresher, which has a touch of green coffee extract, and adds in coconut milk instead of water, so it gives you the feel of a creamier drink- like the frappes or lattes- but minus all the fats and carbs. But don’t get too excited, this drink does have its fair share of fats/carbs, many of which are coming from the coconut milk, but all in all it is quite refreshing, light, and perfect for a summer afternoon. Coming from a self-declared coffee queen, it’s hard to swap out my am cup o’ joe for this because it’s most definitely NOT a member of the coffee family, but after having one of my two morning cups of coffee, I’ve been happily sipping this little cup of deliciousness.

But, let’s be honest, the biggest draw to this new drink is the fact that it photographs so well…#drinkoftheday. It’s a hashtaggers dream. So, thanks Starbucks, for giving all of us something new to take pictures of. Now we have something to look at until #pumpkinspicelatte season hits. The new Pink Drink is an instagramming white girl’s dream come true! You know it’s always Ugg boots, flannel shirts, and leggings in the background of all the pumpkin spice latte pictures in the fall, so I just can’t wait to see what the masses create to go with the new drink hype. There’s sure to be some ocean sunrises, barely there bikinis, and aviators cropping up. Me, well I opted to show off my newly painted pink nails with my pink drink. Matching like a boss today.

But, all joking aside, you really should give this beverage a try. I don’t think you’ll be disappointed. Coconuts are chalk full of fiber, vitamins, and minerals, so it’s definitely not the most unhealthy choice for you. And for all of you who are lactose intolerant, you can try it out as well! Coconut milk is lactose free.

Happy Sipping!

image

Leave a Reply

