Diet · Training

Check Yo’ Self

I’ve noticed that when I don’t have someone watching over me and requiring me to do weekly check-ins with them regarding my food intake and workout schedule, I find myself getting further and further off the right path. Yes, it is possible to hold yourself accountable and make good choices, but let’s face it, it’s so much easier when you know you have someone watching you. You get this feeling that you have to succeed because you don’t want to disappoint them. I know, personally, when I have prepped for a show, I felt like even if I just strayed from my plan and ate an Oreo or two that the guilt would be written all over my progress pics to my coach. Like those Oreos were stuck right to my thighs. This is obviously ridiculous, but it did serve to help keep me in check. I knew I had to report in to him each week with my progress and photos, so that helped to keep me in line just knowing that someone was keeping tabs on me. So, the point of this rambling is that I thought it would be a great idea to form an accountability group. I know it’s nothing new, and other people have done it, but what’s one more group if it helps you to stick to your goals?

I currently have a page on Facebook- just sign on and search “Intrepidly Fit”. Once you like the page, you will be able to see daily or every few day updates, motivation, and hopefully messages from others in the group (hint: that’s where you all come in) Please feel free to post on the page anything related to your fitness, diet, and health goals. For example, did you have a great workout today? Post us a picture or give us a peek of what you did for your workout. Maybe you made a really great healthy recipe…share that there, too! Or it can be something as simple as a motivational quote that you love (you know how I’m all about finding great quotes). There’s a chance that we will also do mini challenges, like the Fit Friday Challenge, so by liking the page and becoming active in the accountability group, you will have access to fun little fitness challenges, too! The bottom line is that there is success in numbers. My hope is that by opening this accountability group up, we can help each other stay motivated to reach our goals. Hopefully we will each learn a few things along the way as well.

Happy Tuesday!

Leave a Reply

