Training

I like Big Backs and I Cannot Lie

I don’t typically post any full workout that I do. I’m more of a snippet here, a video there kind of girl. But I had a great back workout just the other night, and I figured that I might as well share it.  Back workouts just might be my most favorite. I have no idea why. From a competitive standpoint, my back is small and needs lots of work, so I suppose it’s a good thing that I don’t mind working on it. I typically try to get two back workouts in a week, a heavier day and a lighter day. I actually usually lump back/glutes together on my second day of the week just to switch things up. It works for me.

So that being said, go ahead and give my workout a go. You might love it or you might hate it. What works for one person won’t necessarily be great for someone else. I guess that’s why I kind of shy away from always listing my exact workouts. If you keep following exactly what someone else does, you might not be getting the most bang for your own buck. It’s much better to have a workout tailored especially to your body and your needs. Anyways…

Without further ado, here’s the workout:

  1. Swimmer Lat Pull-Downs – 5 reps, stretch, 5 reps, stretch…total of 25 reps
  2. Normal Grip Lat Pull- Downs- 4 x 12
  3. One Armed Straight Bar Rows – 2 x 10, 2 x 8
  4. Standing Face Pulls (Wide Grip)- 3 x 12 supersetted with Machine High Row- 3 x 10
  5. V-Bar Cable Row- 4 x 10
  6. Back Extensions- 3 x 12

I always like to start with a good stretching motion. I can get that stretch with swimmer lat pull-downs, so they’re always a good go-to. Get a few reps in and stretch, then do a few more until your lats feel nice and warm.

And if you didn’t already know, FORM OVER WEIGHT ALWAYS. No one cares how much weight you can pick up/push/pull, so do what works for you. If your form is sloppy and your weight is too heavy, you’re just asking for an injury. Practice good form. Heavy weight can come later. Promise.

image

There are also so, so many variations of rows that you can do. Switch it up. Shock your muscles. Don’t get bored doing the same thing over and over. Use a dumbbell, use a bar, a machine, or cables…the possibilities are endless.

And, last but not least, buy some cute gym shoes. It’s a scientific fact that wearing awesome shoes gives you a better workout. You’re welcome!

One thought on “I like Big Backs and I Cannot Lie

Leave a Reply

