Training

Sun’s Out, Work Out

It has been extremely hot in southwestern PA the past few weeks. Like 90 degree and 99% humidity hot. I think my sweat is sweating. But still, I refuse to complain…too much. Soon enough, we will be under a few inches of snow, with temps in the negatives, if the past few years of winter trends continue. So, I’ve been doing my best to not hate too much on the weather.

Anyhow, last Friday was one of those melt your face off kind of hot days, so of course I decided that would be a great day to take my workout outside. I’m really brilliant like that. My thought process went something like this: “If I go to the gym, I’ll have about 40 minutes worth of a workout and then about 30 minutes of cardio. But if I just go out in my driveway, I can bang out a good 30 minute HIIT workout AND get a tan.”

It was a no-brainer for a sun-worshiper such as myself. So off I went.

Thirty minutes later (well, more like 26, but who’s counting) I was literally drowning in my own sweat and breathing like a chain-smoking marathon runner. I realized two things. 1. It felt really good to literally kick my own ass. 2. I didn’t remember workouts this hard in high school track. So either I’m getting old or they just went too easy on us. I’m going with the latter of the two.

Here’s what I did:

I basically gave myself a full body workout in the span of 26 minutes. It was high intensity, my heart was pounding, and the best part of it was that it was nice to get outside of the gym and get active in the sun. According to the gurus in the diet/exercise world, if you want to lose that fat then this is the way to do it. High intensity training is where it’s at. Don’t get me wrong, I love lifting weights, but it’s sometimes nice to see how difficult it can be to just move your own body weight around. No weights or equipment were used in the making of this sweat session. Get outside (don’t forget the sunscreen!), get creative, and get your sweat on!

Leave a Reply

