Diet · Training

It Don’t Come Easy

I know I’ve written about something similar to this before, but I feel that it bears repeating. You will never outwork a bad diet. Spending exorbitant amounts of money on supplements will not create your dream body. Stop looking for external fixes for your problems and start looking to yourself, your own body, as your tool to weight loss or muscle gain.

Just because so and so endorses this protein or that pre-workout, or because your friend, who is the be all end all of knowledge when it comes to diet and exercise, told you some secret recipe of a supplement stack that will for sure get you to your goals doesn’t mean it’s going to make your dreams come true. I know it’s hard to fathom. The fact that just honest to God true hard work can get you what you want. It sounds too hard, right? That’s because it is. But for God’s sake, stop blowing money on powders and pills, and drinks and shakes, and put some money into your grocery bill and a good pair of tennis shoes…AND GET YOUR ASS TO WORK.

And really, if you’ve set your mind to your goal and you’ve decided to push full steam ahead towards the body you’ve always wanted, then do it. You don’t have to talk about it. No one cares that you squatted 300 pounds when you’re negating that work as you sling drinks back at the bar. Work hard in silence towards your goals and your results will speak for themselves. And no, I’m not saying that to get the body and healthy life that you want, you can’t have any fun. But let’s be honest…if you follow your plan to a “T” Monday through Friday, why would you blow it by getting drunk and chowing down on McDonald’s every Saturday night? The truth it, no one really does care if you like to go out and party. But if you have goals that include losing weight or “toning up”, then why are you setting up roadblocks for yourself on your fitness path?

Here’s the thing, we all make sacrifices for things that we want. Half the time we don’t even realize that we are doing it. Ever see a purse or pair of shoes that you wanted at the store? Did you save up money to buy it? Maybe decide to stop eating out every night of the week to curb your spending? That’s sacrificing the luxury of eating out to save money for said purchase. But tell someone to stop eating out every night of the week to help in their weight loss goals and they act like you just told them they have a month to live. And trust me, I’m not exaggerating. I’ve actually been in that exact spot. At a point in time in prepping for a competition, eating out stops… unless your idea of eating out is eating cold chicken and broccoli out of Tupperware while sitting in your car. So needless to say, at one point in time the thought of not getting to eat at a restaurant made me feel like I was asked to amputate my right arm. And all I had to do was cook my own food for a couple weeks. What kind of people are we that something like that makes us consider ditching our goals?!

The funniest part of this entire situation is that once you get yourself in a routine of eating healthier, not spending money on useless supplements, not blowing your paycheck at the bar, and working out… it becomes routine and you don’t even think about it. Kind of like breathing. You know you do it, but you don’t think about it. You don’t worry about it. You just do it. Let yourself become so consumed by living a healthy life that it becomes your lifestyle and you don’t feel like saying no to that second margarita or that piece of cheesecake is such a sacrifice.

Now let’s touch on the whole supplement issue for just a brief second. If you are eating a healthy and well balanced diet, then you should be getting the vitamins and nutrients that your body needs. Here’s a secret- I AM SO CHEAP. I’d rather spend money on a few pounds of chicken, some potatoes, and veggies, than spend that same amount of money on a bottle of some vitamin. I mix BCAAs into my water to drink while I workout…because I like the taste of it. Have I ever felt like “ohhh those branch chain amino acids are really making me feel good”? The answer is no. Of course not. Are those BCAAs that I drink during my workouts helping me? I guess I’ll never truly know, but they taste good, so there’s that. I also mix an egg white and protein powder shake every morning for breakfast. Why do I do this? Because not only am I cheap, but I’m also lazy. I get up early for work, and when having to choose between an extra 15 minutes of sleep vs. making breakfast, sleep always wins. I also have forgotten to take a multivitamin for probably 100 days running now. And guess what? I’m not dead.

Okay, so I’m being somewhat sarcastic, and I do totally get why people take supplements. Some people actually have proven deficiencies and need those additions. But here’s how I look at it: I’ve had bloodwork done recently. I eat a relatively healthy diet (I eat my meats and veggies). I get plenty of exercise. So I’m not going to spend gobs of money on things that may or may not do me any good. Easy as that. Freedom to choose and all that good stuff. You have an extra hundred or so dollars burning a hole in your pocket? By all means, spend it at your local supplement shop. Heck, you’re helping the economy so that’s a good thing. You will NEVER catch me telling someone, “you need to take this” or “you need to add this”, but I will give you my most educated/researched answer if you ask me my opinion on a supplement that you are considering taking. I will NEVER tell you not to take something…unless obviously it’s something that has been proven unwise to consume.

The bottom line is this: it’s your body to do what you want with and it’s your decision as to what you put into it. Freedom of choice and all that good stuff, again. This is just me airing my opinion as I so love to do. This is me hating the fact that way too many people look for the shortcuts and easy ways out. This is me shouting for the millionth time that anything worth having isn’t going to come easy.

And hey, ANYTHING WORTH HAVING ISN’T GOING TO COME EASY!

Leave a Reply

