Training

Prioritize

I just realized that I have had zero posts, zero motivation for post ideas, and have generally been really boring lately. I’ve been super wrapped up in the busiest time of year at my job, hiring a new assistant, and trying to pack my entire house up for a move…all while trying to sell said house. Whew. Ok, so whining over.

So, today it dawned on me how radio silent I’ve been, and I figured I should probably do something about that. And of course, you should never do anything half-assed. Always, always throw your whole ass into it. And that I did. I mustered up some drive and headed to the driveway to kill two birds with one stone.

  1. Get my own workout in.
  2. Piece together some fresh workouts for Intrepidly Fit’s upcoming Fall Fitness Extravaganza.
  3.  (even though I only said two birds, one stone) Walk/run with the dog to wear her hyper little self out…and give myself a little extra cardio boost.

And now it’s almost like that workout produced higher than normal levels of endorphins because I am feeling fantastically happy and in the moment. I cracked open the laptop with a renewed sense of purpose to bust out a new post. I’m on such an exercise high that I’m even considering finishing off with a solid stretching session. And if you know me, you know that I am always skipping out on the stretches. I know, I know…bad habit. I should practice what I preach…

Anyhow, I’m feeling motivated, I’m feeling refreshed, and I want to share that with you. Hopefully give you a little Tuesday (that seriously feels like a Monday) boost. So, stop what you’re doing. Drop that basket of laundry, forget the sink full of dishes, get up off the couch, and MOVE YOUR BODY. I don’t care how or what you do…yoga, pilates, a run, weights…just get off your butt and challenge yourself. A little sweat is a good thing. Throw your pretty hair up into a bun. Just do it. Get that workout in. I promise that in 30 minutes or an hour, you won’t be saying, “I really regret working out when I could have washed some sheets”. The laundry will be there later. The dishes aren’t going to get up and walk away, though I wish they would. Make time for you now, to work on your own health, and do the chores later. You are a priority. Binge watching your favorite show is not. You just have to make it happen.

If you’re totally lost and want to get off the couch, but have no idea where to start, try this quick at home 10/20/30 workout:

  1. 10 push-ups
  2. 20 squats
  3. 30 crunches

(Repeat 3 times)

Finish this off with a 10 or 20 minute walk/run. Start with a brisk walk and alternate with a nice jog. Try walking two minutes and jogging one. If that’s too easy, do one minute walk/one minute jog.

Finish it all up with a good stretch session. And bam, you’re done. And it didn’t even take a whole hour out of your day!

Live happy. Live fit. Embrace balance.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

