Diet

All Souped Up

Sometimes I get lucky and am able to have some of my favorite things all at one time. This weekend presented a perfect opportunity for me to create “my perfect afternoon”. I know most of you know by now that I have an obsession with coffee and anything fall/pumpkin related. I also happen to have a soft spot for soup. I feel like it should have it’s own group in the pyramid. And books. I read all the books. What better way to enjoy some of my favorite things than curled up under a fuzzy throw on a chilly October afternoon?

image

I recently bought a new flavored coffee on my weekly trip to TJ Maxx (I’m obsessed with that place, too), so I brewed myself a pot of pumpkin creme brulee. It. Is. Fabulous. And I know I’ll never be able to find it again. That seems to be the case with finding little treasures such as that. So here I sat, blanketed, coffeed, and Kindled, and I realized that I was just missing one thing- a nice big bowl of homemade soup. I made homemade broccoli and cheese and chili recently, so I wanted to do something different. What I came up with was better than I had even imagined. I somehow concocted the best vegetable soup ever. Yes, I am biased but the boyfriend gave it two thumbs up, so I know it’s good. I’ve always hated canned vegetable, and never thought I could ever master “Grandma’s vegetable soup”, so I was always at the mercy of someone else’s kitchen when it came to this stuff. Anyhow, my own version of vegetable is the whole reason I started writing this post today, and I know you all are thinking, “Okay, Chelsy, just get to the recipe already”. So, without further ado, I give you THE RECIPE. Please feel free to make it and enjoy, spread the soup love, and as always- give credit where it’s due 😉

Oh, did I forget to mention that this is a crockpot recipe???

It is!

So, if you can wield a kitchen knife and use a measuring cup, you’re set. It’s that easy!

Ingredients:

  • 1-1.5 lbs stewing meat
  • 32 oz. beef broth
  • 1/2 to 3/4 cup spaghetti sauce
  • 15 oz can diced tomatoes (do not drain)
  • 1 can great northern beans, drained
  • 1 can whole kernel corn, drained (or fresh corn off the cob if you’ve got it on hand)
  •  1 medium zucchini, cubed
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 4-6 red potatoes, cubed (mine were really small, so I used more)
  • 1 (or 2) cup(s) baby carrots, halved
  • 2 bay leaves
  • salt/pepper to taste

Directions:

I am not Emeril or Rachael Ray, so this isn’t an exact science. Use as many carrots/potatoes, etc. as you like. It’s going to be pretty hard to mess this recipe up.

Start by lightly browning the beef in a skillet with salt/pepper.

Next, get your veggies ready and start cubing and dicing everything.

Once your beef is browned and your veggies are chopped, throw everything in the crockpot. Top with the broth, canned items, and sauce. Sprinkle generously with salt and pepper, then throw the bay leaves in.

Mix everything together and put the lid on. Now just ignore it for a few hours, and then you will have a great homemade veggie soup!

*I cooked mine on high for about 3.5 hours. Some of my veggies could have been cooked longer, but I was too hungry to wait any longer.

I think that putting your crock on low and letting it cook all day (6-ish hours) would make it perfect.

image

Leave a Reply

