Diet

The Great Pumpkin

Let’s start this post off by bowing our heads in a moment of silence and appreciation that fall is most definitely here, and with it comes the pumpkin recipes!

There’s just something that doesn’t feel quite right about baking pumpkin bread in June…but once the temperature drops and the leaves start changing, no force on earth could stop me from using pumpkin in basically ALL of my cooking. I know, I go a little overboard, you don’t need to tell me that. I’ve got pumpkin cookies, pumpkin bread, pumpkin in my chili, and the scent of pumpkin candles in every room of my house. Thank God for a tolerant boyfriend. He’s okay with my crazy, at least I think so…

So, anyhow, on this most gorgeous November day I decided to hightail it to the kitchen. The boyfriend requested homemade chocolate chip cookies, and he got cookies and more! I’ll be totally honest here, I just used the recipe on the back of the bag of chocolate chips for his cookies. I don’t think you can really mess up a chocolate chip cookie recipe. But when I was done with those, I realized I had half a bag of chips left and a few cans of pumpkin burning a hole in my pantry. What does all of this babble mean, you ask?? Well, it’s your lucky day because you are getting 2 RECIPES IN ONE POST!! 

Anytime I decide to bake something, whether it’s a few cookies or a cake, I always end up with at least three different baked goods. I don’t know how it happens. But it results in a kitchen that looks like a tornado hit it and enough goodies for a family of 6. There are just two of us here. I make no apologies for my baking black outs. Now, on to the recipes…

First, I give you my pumpkin oatmeal bar creation!

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup canned pumpkin
  • 1/2 cup Biscoff Cookie Butter
  • 2 cups old fashioned oats
  • 1 cup light brown sugar, packed
  • 1/4 cup granulated Splenda
  • 1 Tbsp. vanilla extract
  • pumpkin pie spice, ground cloves, and cinnamon to your liking ( I rarely ever measure these. Go wild!)

Directions:

Mix everything in one mixing bowl with a large spoon. Or two, as I did, because you can never have enough dirty dishes…img_0216

Once everything is mixed well, spread the batter in a foil lined and sprayed 8×8 pan. (I use Pam Spray)

img_0217

Bake at 350F for about 30 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. They will still be slightly sticky when done. Let cool before cutting into squares. The finished product looks fairly similar to before baking, it just ends up being a more solid and sticky bar. See below.

img_0221

Now, if that wasn’t enough for you…onto your second pumpkin recipe today! I was going to be done baking after the chocolate chip cookies and the oatmeal bars, honest. I decided to do just one more wing-it recipe because I had an opened can of pumpkin and still some chocolate chips left. Waste not, want not!

As I like to do when baking, I winged this next recipe, too, because it makes it more fun. I did NOT know if I would end up with bread, cookies, or cupcakes until the batter was mixed and I saw the quantity and consistency. I ended up going with cookies, as you’ll see, and they are MOUTHWATERING!

Wing-It Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup canned pumpkin
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 cup granulated Splenda
  • 1 cup semi sweet chocolate chips (approximate)
  • pumpkin pie spice and ground cloves, again to your liking

Directions:

Go ahead and dump all ingredients, minus the chocolate chips, into your mixer and blend well.

img_0218

Once batter is smooth, stir in chips by hand.

img_0219

Once your chocolate chips are mixed in, then you just need to spoon out onto a foil lined and greased cookie sheet.

img_0220

Bake at 350F for approximately 8 minutes. And voila!

img_0222

These cookies, as I found out, do not spread. They stay very fluffy. And again, these don’t look all that much different from their pre-baked form. Don’t know how my recipes both had that outcome today, but when you wing it, it’s always a surprise.

*This cookie recipe yields approximately 16 very fluffy cake-like cookies.

If you’re brave enough to try either of these recipes I’ve concocted, please let me know what you think. I’m home alone and the cats don’t make very good taste testers.

Happy baking and enjoying!

Leave a Reply

