Training

Time

Although we all know that we should love our bodies as is, learn to embrace our flaws, and be happy in our own skin…we all know it’s not always that easy. Let’s be honest- one of the easiest things to do is to look in the mirror and pick yourself apart, or take a photo and immediately check it to see if the angle made you look skinnier. We’re all guilty of this. You want to be taller, shorter, skinnier, more muscular. There’s always something. And for this reason many of us find our way into the gym. It’s there that we hope to improve upon some of our supposed “flaws”. It’s there where we feel like it’s possible to alter our genetics. And it’s mostly true. If you work hard enough and eat right, you’ll start to build that lean muscle you’ve been dying for. If you dedicate yourself to working on yourself, you will undoubtedly see results. You know you can’t change your bone structure- wide hips or stick straight for example- but you can transform your body so that you feel “comfortable in your own skin”.

img_0325

For the longest time, one of my biggest hang ups about my own body was the fact that I have wide hips and thick legs. Always have. Even in my baby pictures I had legs like a well fed Christmas ham. It took me a looooooonnnng time to come to terms with the fact that I will never have thighs like a Victoria’s Secret model. And then one day I realized that I didn’t want sticks for legs anyhow, so I decided to work with what I’d been given. That’s exactly what I’ve been doing. I realized that my workout plan isn’t going to work for you, and my goals likely aren’t exactly like yours either. For me, I’ve seen the most improvement in my lower body by dedicating two days a week to working it. And incorporating a high rep/plyometric leg day has really begun to show great progress for me. It’s my “girly butt workout” day as the boyfriend likes to call it. We don’t workout together on those days…though I’ll always offer to work him into a good few sets of hip thrusts and glute kickbacks.

img_0330

Anyhow, this protocol has worked for me. It’s made me feel better about my self proclaimed thunder thighs. It took me a number of years to get here, and I still have days where I look at other females (in person and on social media) and think to myself, “dang, she’s got nice legs. I’d kill for those”. But they are her legs, not mine. Those were built specifically for her. They shouldn’t look like mine. But it does motivate me. I look at other people who have transformed their bodies, who sculpted beautiful work, and the one common denominator of them all? TIME. That’s it. The big secret. You want nice legs? Work for it. You want bigger biceps? Dedicate yourself to training. You want to better yourself? Get to it. What’s stopping you? If your fear of failing is greater than your want to succeed, then you will never reach your goal. If you think that you should have the perfect butt after having gone to the gym for 6 months, you’re dead wrong. Changing your physique takes time…lots of time. Most of the people whom I’ve looked at and admired their legs have been consistent worker-outers for way more than a year or two. So don’t be discouraged when you aren’t seeing results as fast as you’d like. Rome wasn’t built in a day and your butt won’t be, either.

But in the meantime, while you’re waiting, you can get really creative with your workouts. When you realize that it isn’t always about how much weight you can lift, but actually how good your form and mind/muscle connection is, you open yourself up to a whole new world of exercise. I actually do “girly butt workouts” with pride now, not caring who thinks band work, and kickbacks and body weight squats are inferior exercises. They work for me- and that’s what matters. I’m not trying to grow your legs, I’m working on my own.

Leave a Reply

